On July 2 in Manchester (UK), Jim Chauvin, WFPHA’s Immediate Past President and an independent public health advocate and consultant in Canada, and Dr. Georges Benjamin, member of the WFPHA’s Governing Council and Executive Director of the American Public Health Association, were made Honorary Fellows of the Faculty of Public Health of the United Kingdom.

This distinction, the FPH’s highest grade of membership, is bestowed on the recommendation of the Faculty’s Board on “persons of eminence who have rendered exceptional services to the science, literature or practice of public health”. Jim was recognized for his contribution to global public health and the enhancement of public health associations and the WFPHA; Georges was recognized for his leadership in public health in the USA and his stewardship of the APHA as a leading independent voice for public health.

Not more than six Honorary Fellowships shall be bestowed in any one year. Other recipients were Professor Lindsey Davies, previous FPH President 2010-2013, Dame Karen Dunnell, National Statistician and Chief Executive of the Office for National Statistics, Dame Tessa Jowell, Member of Parliament (Labour) and the UK’s first Minister of State for Public Health, and Professor Timothy Lang, Professor of Food Policy at the City University London.

The Faculty of Public Health (FPH) is the standard setting body for specialists in public health in the United Kingdom. FPH, a WFPHA Full Member since 2011 (when it incorporated the former UKPHA), is a joint faculty of the three Royal Colleges of Physicians of the United Kingdom (London, Edinburgh and Glasgow). The Royal Society for Public Health, a WFPHA founding member, is also a Full Member representing the UK within the WFPHA.

Dr. John Ashton, President of the Faculty of Public Health, presents Honorary Fellowships to Dr. Georges Benjamin and James Chauvin (top of the page).

Poonam Khetrapal SinghWHO SEARO has confirmed its support as Co-Sponsor for 14th World Congress on Public Health and Poonam Khetrapal Singh, Regional Director for the WHO South-East Asia Region, confirmed her participation to the 14th World Congress on Public Heath.

Dr Khetrapal Singh has a vast repertoire of experience, having worked in the health sector for over three decades at both national and international levels. She served with WHO for the past 16 years. She is the first woman to be nominated to this post in the Region.




Raman Bedi will give a keynote dealing with the results of the Oral Health Capacity Mapping Project at the upcoming 14th World Congress on Public Health. Other interesting sessions have been organized around Oral Health, namely a workshop on Oral Health for Elderly and Dementia sufferers, a session on Oral Cancer jointly organized with the International Agency for Research on Cancer/WHO and a session on Dental Caries.

Do not miss the oppotunity to get an insight on the latest news on Oral Health and meet senior Oral Health stakeholders!

For more information, please contact the Oral Health Working Group.

Global experts Poonam K Singh, Nata Menabde, R K Pachauri, Michael Marmot, Girindre Beeharry, Purnima Mane, Pekka Puska, Srinath Reddy, Ilona Kickbush
and others will be plenary speakers of the 14th WCPH. Please click here to see their photograph and brief biography.