The Official signing of the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between the Government of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia and the African Federation of Public Health Associations (AFPHA) on the Establishment of the AFPHA Head Office in Addis Ababa Ethiopia was effected on the 8th day of September 2014, at the Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs Office in Addis Ababa.

His Excellency Ambassador Berhane Gebre-Christos, State Minister for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs representing the Government of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, and Dr. Tewabech Bishaw AFPHA Secretary General, representing the African Federation of Public Health Associations signed the MoU.

Present at the occasion were officials from the Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Dr. Mengistu Asnake, President of the World Federation of Public Health Associations (WFPHA), Dr. Filimona Bisrat, President of the Ethiopian Public Health Association (EPHA) and Mr. Dereje Gebreab, Program Officer, AFPHA.

On the occasion, H.E. Ambassador Berhane stressed the importance of the regional public health organization and the Ethiopian government commitment in supporting the Federation activities in Ethiopia and throughout the continent. On her part Dr. Tewabech Bishaw acknowledged all the support being provided by the Ethiopian government right from the inception of AFPHA and emphasized the federation’s commitment in improving public health in the continent.

The official signing of the MOU is a significant step that enables AFPHA to work independently as an African Regional Organization and to mobilize required resources for the betterment and equity of public health in the African region and beyond.

The World Federation of Public Health Associations and the African Federation of Public Health Associations call on mobilizing public health resources and revitalizing primary health care for a sustainable response to the current Ebola situation and public health emergencies.

To read the statement click on the corrsponding language:

English - French

WHO-SEARO has confirmed its support as Co-Sponsor for 14th World Congress on Public Health

On July 2 in Manchester (UK), Jim Chauvin, WFPHA’s Immediate Past President and an independent public health advocate and consultant in Canada, and Dr. Georges Benjamin, member of the WFPHA’s Governing Council and Executive Director of the American Public Health Association, were made Honorary Fellows of the Faculty of Public Health of the United Kingdom.

This distinction, the FPH’s highest grade of membership, is bestowed on the recommendation of the Faculty’s Board on “persons of eminence who have rendered exceptional services to the science, literature or practice of public health”. Jim was recognized for his contribution to global public health and the enhancement of public health associations and the WFPHA; Georges was recognized for his leadership in public health in the USA and his stewardship of the APHA as a leading independent voice for public health.

Not more than six Honorary Fellowships shall be bestowed in any one year. Other recipients were Professor Lindsey Davies, previous FPH President 2010-2013, Dame Karen Dunnell, National Statistician and Chief Executive of the Office for National Statistics, Dame Tessa Jowell, Member of Parliament (Labour) and the UK’s first Minister of State for Public Health, and Professor Timothy Lang, Professor of Food Policy at the City University London.

The Faculty of Public Health (FPH) is the standard setting body for specialists in public health in the United Kingdom. FPH, a WFPHA Full Member since 2011 (when it incorporated the former UKPHA), is a joint faculty of the three Royal Colleges of Physicians of the United Kingdom (London, Edinburgh and Glasgow). The Royal Society for Public Health, a WFPHA founding member, is also a Full Member representing the UK within the WFPHA.

Dr. John Ashton, President of the Faculty of Public Health, presents Honorary Fellowships to Dr. Georges Benjamin and James Chauvin (top of the page).