The World Federation of Public Health Associations (WFPHA) joins the launch of The Global Sustainable Health Equity Movement. The movement has been started by sending an Open Letter to H.E. Mr. António Guterres, Secretary-General of the United Nations (UN). The letter called for a comprehensive, equity-focused response to the COVID-19 pandemic, guided by the ethical principles of justice, beneficence and nonmaleficence and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

This global launch event aims to:

  • Highlight the role and importance of sustainable health equity in the response to the COVID-19 pandemic and beyond;
  • Reiterate the initiative’s support for the UN and World Health Organization (WHO) as ethical global leaders to guide the comprehensive response to the pandemic and its aftermath.
  • Launch of the Sustainable Health Equity Movement, by bringing together all entities, organizations, and individuals who endorsed the open letter to the UN.

The event will be addressed by UN and WHO leadership, as well as members of the interim steering committee of the movement.

Save The Date: Thursday, 2 July 2020, 8:00 AM - 9:30 AM (New York) / 2:00 PM - 3:30 PM (Geneva/Johannesburg) / 6:00 PM – 7:30 PM (Dhaka)

Please register in advance for this event: https://umassmed.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_FO7JKXMNSyublj6KM2gVtw

 

sustainable health equity movement global launch event websustainable health equity movement global launch event web

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedInShere with friendsDisplay print-friendly version